UAW 5810 members Anke, Charisse, and Carly at the UAW CAP Political conference in Washington DC

Carly and members of UAW 4123 (Academic Student Employees at CSU) met with Representative Alan Lowenthal

Charisse and fellow UAW union members had a great conversation about unions, healthcare, and scientific research with Representative Maxine Waters

Friday, March 16, 2018

Dear Colleague,

Hello from Academic Researchers United! We wanted to give you a report back from a recent visit to Washington D.C. by some of our Postdoc colleagues. Last month as part of UAW’s Community Action Program (CAP) meeting, UC Postdoc Union (UAW 5810) members Anke Schennink (UC Davis), Carly Ebben Eaton (UC Berkeley), and Charisse Winston (UC San Diego) met with 15 members of Congress and their staff. Along with fellow UAW members from other academic employee unions, Anke, Carly and Charisse urged members of Congress to support union rights for all workers, to defend science and increase federal investment in research, and to protect Dreamers and expand visa and green card access.

Over the last six months, thousands of UC researchers have signed our petition to defend researcher values and joined delegation meetings with congressional representatives across the state. Partially thanks to these efforts, last month’s budget agreement means science funding could actually increase for 2018!  All of the details are not out yet but we’ll keep you posted.

If you have any questions or are interested in getting more involved in our efforts to form a union, please contact us and be sure to like and share our Facebook page. By forming a union of Academic Researchers, we can continue to build all UC researchers’ power to ensure that our research is funded and the rights of all of our peers protected!

In Solidarity,

UC Berkeley
Holly Aaron, Specialist
Vincent Guacci, Assistant Researcher
Howard Isaacson, Specialist
Bo Liu, Associate Specialist
Sa Liu, Associate Researcher
Isabella Rauch, Associate Specialist
Anatalia Robles, Associate Specialist
Adam Zeilinger, Associate Specialist

UC Davis
Kelsey Brewer, Assistant Specialist
Karam Kim, Project Scientist
Jennifer Phipps, Project Scientist
Sergio Silva, Junior Specialist
Vikrant Singh, Project Scientist

UC Irvine
Andrea Anzalone,  Project Scientist
Guaciara M. dos Santos,  Project Scientist
Rongwei Mao, Associate Specialist
Sergio Masague, Project Scientist
Lei Shi, Project Scientist
Amanda Wortman, Specialist

Christian Hoffman, Assistant Project Scientist
Laura Marinelli, Assistant Researcher
Dennis Montoya, Assistant Researcher
Christina Priest, Assistant Project Scientist
Anna Salazar, Assistant Project Scientist
Paolo Zimmaro, Project Scientist

UC Riverside
Ahmed Farouk Abdalla, Assistant Project Scientist

UC San Diego
Hugo Carreira, Assistant Project Scientist
Saikat Chakraborty Thakur, Assistant Project Scientist
Ching-Wen Chang, Assistant Project Scientist
Sonia Podvin, Assistant Project Scientist
Francesca Soncin, Assistant Project Scientist.
Hye-Won Song, Assistant Project Scientist
Thomas Touboul, Assistant Project Scientist
Jonathan Yu, Associate Project Scientist
Chun Zheng, Assistant Project Scientist

UC San Francisco
Luke Bonser, Assistant Researcher
Adam De Smith, Assistant Researcher
Jesse Elias, Assistant Specialist
Sahar Houshdaran, Specialist
Maria Luisa Mandelli, Assistant Researcher
Mary McMahon, Associate Specialist
Nicole Nasholm, Associate Specialist
Ajay Ravindranathan, Specialist
Veronica Steri, Associate Specialist
Cassandra Van, Assistant Specialist
Tanner Wakefield, Assistant Specialist

UC Santa Barbara
Evangeline Ballerini, Associate Specialist

UC Santa Cruz
Sergio Covarrubias, Associate Specialist
Zach Luce, Junior Specialist
Paul Mattern, Assistant Researcher
Lisa Schwarz, Assistant Researcher
Stella Villegas, Assistant Project Scientist