Wednesday, September 26, 2019

Dear Colleague,

We are your elected Bargaining Team members and volunteer activists. Starting on Wednesday, October 2 and continuing through Friday, October 18, our Union–Academic Researchers United / UAW 5810–will hold a Strike Authorization Vote. Voting "Yes" means giving our Bargaining Team the authority to call a strike if circumstances justify — such as if the UC does not bargain in good faith, fails to provide the union information necessary and relevant to bargaining, or takes actions to undermine our union and/or ARs’ rights under State of California labor laws. Note that voting “Yes” does not obligate any individual AR to participate in a strike nor mean that a strike will necessarily be called.

At meetings and actions across the state, Academic Researchers (Specialists, Project Scientists, Professional Researchers, and CPPs) have expressed strong support for taking this vote and we encourage you to vote "Yes" starting October 2. As you have seen in the bargaining updates, our Bargaining Team has consistently shown up ready and prepared to represent the concerns of Academic Researchers and propose language that will improve our lives and benefit research at UC. The university has not done so, and instead engaged in stall tactics to delay the process including:

  • Withholding our July 1 pay increases;
  • Not providing information we have requested that is necessary and relevant to bargaining.

We join our colleagues from across the state in recommending a "Yes" vote. It will show UC that we stand behind our Bargaining Team and if circumstances warrant, and a strike is called, we will be prepared to take action. For context, in 2016, during Postdoc Union contract negotiations, over 60% of UC Postdocs participated in the vote and over 96% voted to support their bargaining team. Only a few weeks after taking that vote, Postdocs reached agreement with UC on a historic contract that included the highest pay of any public university Postdocs in the U.S., paid parental leave for all Postdocs, strong protections against discrimination and harassment, and dramatically increased job security.

Frequently Asked Questions about the Strike Authorization Vote can be found on our website.

Voting will take place online starting this Wednesday, October 2. You will get an email on the morning of October 2 with a link to vote. If you want to help, have questions, or want to discuss this vote further, Town Hall meetings are scheduled for this week on every campus (see below to find yours). You can also contact

UC Berkeley Oct. 2: Union Office (2030 Addison Street, Suite 640B, 94704) @12pm
UC Davis Oct. 2: Life Sciences 1020 @1pm
UC Irvine Oct. 1: Natural Sciences 2, Room 4206 @12pm
UCLA Oct. 2: Biomedical Sciences Research Building (BSRB) 154 @12pm
UC Merced Oct. 2: SE2, Room 302 @12pm
UC Riverside Oct.1: Batchelor Hall 2158 @12pm
UC San Diego Oct. 3: Price Center West, Bear Room @12pm
UC San Francisco Oct. 1: Mission Bay: Mission Hall 1106 @12pm
Oct. 3: Parnassus: Library, CL-211 & 212 @12pm
UC Santa Barbara Oct. 3: Bren Hall 4016 @12pm
UC Santa Cruz Oct. 2: Sinsheimer Labs 101 @12pm

In solidarity,

UC Berkeley
Holly Aaron, Specialist
Tina Bakolitsa, Assistant Project Scientist
Stacey Frederick, Assistant Specialist
Sadie Costello, Assistant Researcher
Mark Delucci, Researcher
Vincent Guacci, Assistant Researcher
Howard Isaacson, Specialist
Bo Liu, Associate Specialist
Benjamin Lynch, Associate Researcher
Siyan Ma, Associate Specialist
Jessica Penchos, Coordinator of Public Programs
Anatalia Robles, Associate Specialist
Pascal Saint-Hilaire, Assistant Researcher
Bo Tan, Associate Specialist
Adam Zeilinger, Associate Specialist

UC Davis
Omran Abu Aboud, Assistant Researcher
Gerard Ariño Estrada, Assistant Project Scientist
Sandipan Datta, Assistant Project Scientist
Wayne Feng, Project Scientist
Tony Herren, Assistant Project Scientist
Isaac Johnson, Junior Specialist
Karam Kim, Project Scientist
Stefano Morotti, Assistant Project Scientist
Mily Ron, Associate Specialist
Vikrant Singh, Project Scientist

UC Irvine
Andrea Anzalone, Project Scientist
Angelo Demuro, Researcher
Briac Halbout, Assistant Project Scientist
Guaciara M. dos Santos, Project Scientist
Christopher Ma, Associate Specialist
Rongwei Mao, Associate Specialist
Kishore Pangaluru, Assistant Project Scientist
Amanda Wortman, Specialist

Sanchaita Das, Assistant Project Scientist
Silvia Diaz-Perez, Associate Project Scientist
Christian Hofmann, Assistant Project Scientist
Venu Lagishetty, Assistant Project Scientist
Manash Paul, Project Scientist
Christina Priest, Assistant Project Scientist
Michael Rich, Researcher
Jiannis Taxidis, Assistant Project Scientist
Rosane Teles, Assistant Project Scientist
Fenfen Wu, Associate Project Scientist
Paolo Zimmaro, Assistant Project Scientist

UC Merced
David Quint, Associate Project Scientist
Mourad Sadqi, Assistant Project Scientist
Liying Zhao, Associate Project Scientist

UC Riverside
Ahmed Farouk Abdalla, Assistant Project Scientist
Irma De Ley, Associate Specialist
Eduardo Hilario, Assistant Specialist
Brandon Le, Assistant Project Scientist
Baoju Wang, Assistant Specialist
Jocelyn Zorn, Junior Specialist

UC Santa Barbara
Patrick Keeley, Assistant Project Scientist
Susannah Kassmer, Associate Specialist
Kelsey McBeain, Assistant Specialist
Jean-Charles Stinville, Associate Specialist
Ryan McGreal, Assistant Specialist

UC Santa Cruz
Maria Alcaide Gavilan, Associate Project Scientist
Sergio Covarrubias, Associate Specialist
Patrick Drake, Specialist
Rafael Lucena Hernandez, Associate Project Scientist
Paul Mattern, Assistant Researcher
Lisa Schwarz, Assistant Researcher
Stella Villegas, Assistant Project Scientist

UC San Diego
Hugo Carreira, Associate Project Scientist
Saikat Chakraborty Thakur, Associate Project Scientist
Samantha Hurst, Project Scientist
Mateusz Gola, Associate Research Scientist
Leonardo Nogueria, Assistant Research Scientist
Sonia Podvin, Assistant Project Scientist
David Rideout, Associate Research Scientist
Francesca Soncin, Assistant Project Scientist
Virawudh Soontornniyomkij, Assistant Research Scientist
Jonathan Yu, Associate Project Scientist
Chun Zheng, Assistant Project Scientist

UC San Francisco
Pedro Alvarez Munoz, Associate Researcher
Oliver Bogen, Associate Researcher
Luke Bonser, Assistant Researcher
Royce Harner, Assistant Specialist
Sahar Houshdaran, Specialist
Maria Luisa Mandelli, Assistant Researcher
Nicole Nasholm, Specialist
Ajay Ravindranathan, Specialist
Maike Roth, Assistant Specialist
Margaret Soucheray, Associate Specialist
Veronica Steri, Associate Specialist
Theo Tarver, Assistant Specialist
Tanner Wakefield, Assistant Specialist